pedals- Mtbr.com

Thread: pedals

Sock Monkey

pedals

I am new to single speeding, just ordered my bike online and expect to have it in a couple of days. My main ride right now is a Santa Cruz full suspension 29er, and for years I have used Crank Brothers pedals. I just love their simplicity and light weight.

Do most people use flats or clip less for single speeding? Or do they just ride whatever they ride on their geared bike?

Thanks in advance for any input!

mtbr member
    Nov 2010
    Why would you want to buy different pedals meaning you have to swap clips/shoes depending on the bike you take out? If you like crank bros, then get more of them.

mtbr member
    Mar 2012
    Quote Originally Posted by daves4mtb View Post
    Do most people use flats or clip less for single speeding?
    I'm not sure what most people do, but all the SSers that I ride with use clipless pedals. I find that, on the climbs, pulling up on the backstroke is a must if I don't want to walk. Personal opinion is that I would be walking a lot more if I had flat pedals.

That said, ride whatever you like. Contrary to what you learned in school, you don't have to be like everybody else...

local trails rider
    Pulling up on the pedals is a last resort but, riding singlespeed, you sometimes need that little extra boost. Still, there's a plenty of people who prefer flat pedals anyway.

Being a heavier SS rider, I find that I'm hard on my pedals and BBs. I hear that CB's latest models are more durable than before. I've stayed with Time clipless pedals.

"it IS possible that you are faster or slower than anybody else who is having at least as much if not more or less fun"

mtbr member
    Feb 2011
    I ride SS with flatpedals... clip less is not for me... that being said, I tried a few and straitline pedals are by far the best
    Friends don't let friends ride geared bikes

mtbr member
    ride whatever you happen to like. everyone's experience and preference is different, but here's mine: