opinion?: 29er/170mm cranks/32x17 ratio- Mtbr.com
    likes beer

opinion?: 29er/170mm cranks/32x17 ratio

This is the setup I have without going out and buying anything new. The bike has not been built yet.

Im new to the SS world and am curious if this is a decent ratio for paved trail rides with some moderate hills.

Me: beer-drinking white boy. Softy.

mtbr member
    If this is what you have, put it together and ride it. Everybody will be different from what they can push. My initial guess for paved use, it'll be a litle low. If you have the ability to cheaply throw a 34 or 36T up front, might be worth the look.

If you have a bike you're currently riding and can identify the gear ratio you like on it, just use the sheldon brown gear calculator to determine the SS gears you want to run. Just be careful that you don't go too small of rings, or you can get premature wear.

likes beer
    Quote Originally Posted by watts888 View Post
    If this is what you have, put it together and ride it. Everybody will be different from what they can push. My initial guess for paved use, it'll be a litle low. If you have the ability to cheaply throw a 34 or 36T up front, might be worth the look.

If you have a bike you're currently riding and can identify the gear ratio you like on it, just use the sheldon brown gear calculator to determine the SS gears you want to run. Just be careful that you don't go too small of rings, or you can get premature wear.
    Cool. Thanks.
    Yeah the plan was to one-day run it as a 1x8, 9, 10, 11? Im too poor to start looking at a new rear wheel and derailer right now so I thought I'd try my hand at the SS thing to see how I like it.

Ive already got a SS rear wheel with a 17t freewheel, so Im going with it.

mtbr member
    Jan 2014
    That is the same gear setup I ran last year on a GT Karakoram. I commuted on it here and there and did some beginner to intermediate trails with it.

Wanna ride bikes?