On One Inbred or Canfield Bros Nimble 9- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member

On One Inbred or Canfield Bros Nimble 9

I'm looking for a steel SS hardtail to build as my first 29er and thought I was sure about waiting for the Inbred run coming up, but the nimble 9 is also starting to grab my attention. However, cost is about twice as much as the Inbred.

Can anyone help me compare these two frames? I'm a little concerned with reports of heel / crank rubbing on the stays on the nimble9. And when saving cost of the Inbred, I will have a little extra cash to go towards a better wheelset.

mtbr member
    Jul 2005
    First go with the Inbred, a very good frame, you will love it.
    After you will get deep into the SS mud, sell it and buy the the N9, you will appreciate it more.
    I am not kidding

Did I catch a niner+?
    I have been riding a Inbred 29er frame for about 2 1/2 years and it's been pretty enjoyable the whole time. I liked it even more when I just switched to a rigid fork this past July. Once I brought the front end a little more down the steering was much better.

I do not know much about the N9 but as you mentioned on price you could have most if not a whole bike built for the same price on a Inbred. Does the N9 even use a nicer steel or it the same cro-mo?

Mr. Krabs: Is it true, Squidward? Is it hilarious?

mtbr member
    Quote Originally Posted by Mr Pink57 View Post
    I have been riding a Inbred 29er frame for about 2 1/2 years and it's been pretty enjoyable the whole time. I liked it even more when I just switched to a rigid fork this past July. Once I brought the front end a little more down the steering was much better.

I do not know much about the N9 but as you mentioned on price you could have most if not a whole bike built for the same price on a Inbred. Does the N9 even use a nicer steel or it the same cro-mo?