Older bike conversion questions- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member
    Apr 2012

Older bike conversion questions

Hello, I'm sure this has been covered, and I appreciate you helping me (a complete noob) out, even though it may be semi repetitive for you. I just read the SS FAQ, and am going from there.

I just started MTB riding, and I love it! I bought a specialized hardrock sport disc 29er on craigslist, and I'm having a blast. However, I seem to have gotten the rigid singlespeed bug caught in my ear... and not by a little bit. I'm obsessing a little, and it is annoying my wife. So I want to convert an older mtb to a singlespeeder (not my hardrock), and I'd like a little advice.

I'm a fairly heavy guy (6'0, 240lbs, all torso, 29/30" inseam). I've been looking at some 90's Giant Rincons on craigslist for around $100. They look like what I'm after, but I wonder if any of you could comment on their trail durability. They look pretty thin-framed compared to today's monsters.

I'm also looking at a Bridgestone Comp MB-3, but that guy is asking $250... it is outfitted with all deore components currently.

Do you guys prefer slightly smaller frames for SS than geared? My specialized is a 21" frame, and is borderline too big for me (It feels great riding it, but I have no standover clearance, and the curved seatpost keeps it from dropping the last little bit that would give me a little more space to stand and mash too) I'm planning on a shorter seatpost so I can drop it another inch (which would still be 2 inches above the clamp). With that said, I'm looking at 19" frames for my SS project at the moment so I might be more in the middle of the size range. Although, since my hardrock is a 29er, could a 26er 21" frame actually be a better fit?

Any recommendations on other older bikes to look out for? I'd like to end up with something relatively light. I also see a rigid Dakota (never heard of it) that looks solid, Raleigh M40 and M50, an older rigid hard rock.