The normalization of insanity.- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member

The normalization of insanity.

When I first converted an old bike to singlespeed, it was just backup bike for my main bike. After all, riding a singlespeed full time is just crazy.

When I started riding a singlespeed full time, it was just on the easier trails. After all, riding a singlespeed on steep trails is just crazy.

When I started riding a singlespeed on steep trails, it was just for fun and fitness. After all, racing a singlespeed is just crazy.

When I started racing a singlespeed, it was just on the short courses. After all, racing singlespeed on long courses is just crazy.

So here I am registering for the 40 mile Black Bear Rampage - Singlespeed class.

mtbr member
    Aug 2004
    This reasoning inspires me.

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-N900A using Tapatalk

Robtre
    Simple logic: If you like it, do it more. Mountain biking IS a recreational sport. Racing is for fun, unless you earn a paycheck. In my experience single-speeding exclusively for 8+ years is, many many people say single-speed bikes are stupid, until they try it. Riding a SS bike is an art form, and can improve your riding from many aspects. Is it for everyone? Absolutely not. SS is no longer a fad, or a cult, just different. I compare it to my many years of surfing, when I went from riding faster, more nimble short boards, to riding longboards. Longboarding is much like single-speeding, not the most efficient, or popular, but certainly more soulful, rewarding, and more of a connection to the water.
    -rides bikes for fun.

mtbr member
    Feb 2010
    Just wait until you sign up for hundos with 14k of climbing on your single speed and spend 11+ hrs in the saddle to complete the distance.

mtbr member
    Quote Originally Posted by solo-x View Post
    Just wait until you sign up for hundos with 14k of climbing on your single speed and spend 11+ hrs in the saddle to complete the distance.
    That's crazy.

mtbr member
    Love it!