Noob seeking advice from experienced SS'ers- Mtbr.com
    Bicycle Addict

Noob seeking advice from experienced SS'ers

First I'd like to say hello and thanks to all the riders in this forum and the biking community for any and all help you provide in the future . So as the title says I am a noob, not so much to biking but to this forum. I have done my fair amount of research but still need some tips and advice from some of you experienced folk. With that being said I've decided to drink the kool-aid (as per SS forum members refer to as going single speed). I just recently converted my bike from a 3x8 to a 1x8 and that was a big improvement but even then it was too problematic. The chain keeps falling off and the derailleur needs constant adjustments, not to mention the ridiculous amounts of noise it makes on descents and rocky sections. I figure going SS will cure my ailment and make me stronger will I'm at it. The questions I have for you guys are.

Freewheel VS COG, is one better than the other? What's really the difference there?

26" VS 29", will having a 26" impair my SS ability? I notice most guys on the trails have 29" SS.

Do I really need a new chain and chain ring? Can't I just take some links out of the old chain?

For reference purposes I have a 09' Scott Aspect 45. The cranks are Shimano FC-M341, 42/32/22 and the rear cogs are Shimano CS HG40, 11-30, 8-speed.

Bicycle Addict
    Aha! I've answered one of my own questions. I didn't see the FAQ section on SS at first. I guess I'll have to run a regular cog since I have disc brakes.

Birthday Collector