no tubes ztr SS rear hub anyone tried it?- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member
    Jan 2004

no tubes ztr SS rear hub anyone tried it?

looked and found the new SS no tubes ztr hub, 253g, lighter than hope SS & 230g lighter than my stock novatech SS. So it must be better, A very resonable price, way cheaper than King or Hope your views are sought on these hubs coupled with DT rev DB spokes & mavic 717 disc rims. (I'm about 90-93kg) but a rider who is light on his gear.

mtbr member
    Jan 2007
    I had a set of ZTR hubs (SS rear) and Arches on my Q-Ball last year, and for the price, they are hard to beat. I think it was a $20 upgharge over the standard geared hub, and the mini-cassette gives options for chain line. I would not hesitate to get another set. BTW, I sold them with the bike, otherwise I'd still have them.

I like turtles
    Are these available in bolt-on?
    Geologist by trade...bicycle mechanic (former) by the grace of God!

2018 Niner RKT 9 RDO - enduro AF

mtbr member
    Jan 2004
    ztr hubs, DT Rev DB spokes, alloy nipples & Mavic 717disc rims weighing in at 1504g =
    being built up this week so all going well first ride wednesday....next some hope race x2 brakes & my SS is done apart from a lighter h-bar. Carbon anyone?

Mtbr Forum Sponsor - Homebrewed Components
    Jul 2006
    not a huge fan of them. Freehub bodies can be very oversized for some reason. Makes me wonder what else is out of tolerance.

mtbr member
    Jan 2004
    thanks for the advice. CK SS hubs retail for $1,200nz a pair with ceramic brgs.
    That's without spokes & rims etc.....DT Rev DB $10nz each.....717disc rims &160+ nz ea....plus building $120nz per pair.makes for a very expensive wheels set in a bike that only cost me $1,135nz.

mtbr member
    May 2011
    Quote Originally Posted by conrad