Newbie New Bike Help- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member
    Nov 2012

Newbie New Bike Help

I'm new to biking and forums, so please forgive any ignorance...

Iím currently riding a Redline Monocog, which I got cheap on Craigslist two sizes too small when I wasn't sure about my commitment to riding, but now Iím ready to upgrade.

Iím looking for simplicity, ease of DIY maintenance, and flexibility to change cogs, which makes me want to stay with track ends like my Monocog. It just seems easier and less maintenance than EBBs. Also, track ends have fewer parts than sliding dropouts and chain tensioners and just look better then these two options in my opinion.

I donít have any personal experience with disc brakes and from reading Sheldon Brown, he seems to shy away from them for single speeds. I donít think I really need disc brakes for the riding Iím doing and they cost more. However, it seems like the industry is really moving towards them.

My questions are this:

A.) I can only find the Surly Orge and Redline Monocog that have both track ends and linear-pull brake mounts. Are there more?

B.) Since itís almost impossible to not get disc brakes, am I wrong to not really want them? SS riders with track ends and disc brakes, what feedback can you give?

C.) Riders with experience with track ends, EBBs, and sliding dropouts, can you persuade me away from track ends?

Thanks for any help!

WillWorkForTrail
    I can't help you with A - I specifically do not like other brake options. Disc brakes are superior.