new to ss...bar ends?- Mtbr.com
    rocky iv style
    Mar 2004

New question here. new to ss...bar ends?

i'm just getting into ss after riding a geared fs which i preferred using bar ends to climb with. i've noticed a distinct lack of bar ends in the pics here and was just wondering if it is a weight thing, or if the tendency to run wider bars renders them useless, or if its just preference.

formerly Giantxc

It's a preference.

I've been running them on both my SS and gearie for quite a while. However, I might stop, not because I don't like them but because I keep stripping out the tiny screws on the Serfas Stablizers (Both AL and plastic), which I prefer, and I've heard the Singletrack Design version is just as bad.

mtbr member
    Feb 2004
    Whatever works best for you go with it. Salsa makes some nice wide flat bars that you could use bar ends on. Then you have the best of both worlds. It's def. not a weight thing though.

mtbr member
    Jan 2004

I do....

I have two SS bikes and both have bar ends. It gives me more room. I can run a shorter stem for technical downhills and still be able to easily move my weight up front while climbing.

Ebo
    mtbr member
    Dec 2003
    Quote Originally Posted by cross4
    Whatever works best for you go with it. Salsa makes some nice wide flat bars that you could use bar ends on. Then you have the best of both worlds. It's def. not a weight thing though.
    I run the Salsa Pro Moto's with bar ends. Bar is EA70 aluminum at 26" and 180 grams. Bar ends are Titec shorties at 125 grams.

mtbr member
    Jan 2004

If you like the Serfas...

If you like the Serfas Stablizers for the weight then you are out of luck, but I realy like the cane creek ergo bar ends. They have a better feel than the Serfas and are rock solid (and I think performance or nashbar is selling them for $25, 50% off)

Mark

Quote Originally Posted by MrXC