New to Single Speeds- Mtbr.com
    Zippy, the wonder bike
    Feb 2004

New to Single Speeds

Okay so I just bought a Redline Monocog, that deal off the front page here where you get the frame, fork and wheels for $199. I've never done this single speed thing before and have alot of questions. I'm going with Avid V-brakes for braking that is about all I know right now. What type of cranks should I use? Can I just convert regular cranks? Can I convert regular cranks to single speed duty? What should I use for a chain? What gearing should I have? I live in fairly flat area (the prairies) but we have a river valley running through the centre of town so there is plenty of technical trails along the river. I've heard that a longer handlebar is a good thing, for leverage on the hills, is this true? I'm currently pimping out a Trek hardtail for my new race bike, so funds are limited, but I want fairly good parts on this bike, anyone know of some good online stores that cater to single speeders? Also what type of tires should I run, I'm thinking nice wide ones to make the ride a little better and hook up good, but maybe I'm wrong. Thinking of Kenda Kentics maybe. Thanks for any help, this forum is awesome for mountain bikers, I'm usually on the Bicycling.com forum, but it is mostly for roadies.

blame me for missed rides
    most of your questions are answered in the FAQ, which is on the upper right.

Zippy, the wonder bike
    Feb 2004
    Thanks, I guess I should look around, totally missed that

KRN
    mtbr member

Cool!