New build, few teething problems- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member
    Nov 2005

New build, few teething problems

Hi,

Tonight I finished my SS conversion project- nothing fancy, a 2004 Kona Fire Mountain with P2's and a Singulator- and took it for a test ride. All is fine until I hit the steeper hills when the chain 'slips' slightly, accompanied by a harsh click from the rear hub area. This was happening almost every pedal stroke when the gradient got really steep.

The chainline is straight and I took my time setting up the Singulator, pressing down, so I'm thinking it might be the freehub. I'm new to working on bikes so the best I can describe the problem is that it feels like the chain has derailled from one cog to the next on a cassette, like it could occasionally when mashing up hills. It's a click, slip and quick 're-engage'. Obviously this is very annoying as the bike is going to be pushed hard whenever I have to climb a hill, so-

Any ideas?

Does it sound like the freehub? If so what should I look for in a new one? I'd rather not buy an SS hub right now if I can help it (I'm saving for an Inbred 29er...).

Thanks in advance, as always your help is appreciated :-)

mtbr member

Couple ideas

What are you using for your chainring and cogs? If they're ramped (made for shifting), you will most likely encounter what you're describing under load.

You may want to invest a few bucks in a new unramped chainring and cog.

Bike Pimp
    If your parts are used they could skip too... Or, if the chain is only coming into contact with a few teeth, it will skip. you may need to have the singulator pushing up on the chain instead of down to get the chain to grab more teeth.
    Wrenchscience.com
    ...Your local bike shop....

Down South Yooper

Chain Wrap