new blue collar cranks- Mtbr.com
    jl
    climb

new blue collar cranks

I've been using a set of XTR 952 cranks for over 9 years. First on a geared bike, but for the past 5 years strictly as a singlespeed setup. A few weeks ago, during a ride, the right crank arm came loose. I tightened it back on during the ride, but in my haste I messed up the splines on the inside of the crankarm.

I was pretty upset with myself, until I pulled of the left crankarm and noticed it had a hairline fracture. I guess these cranks lived a good life, now it's time for a change. Whirly, Middleburn, old XTR, new XTR? Here's what transpired.

<center>

</center>

This choice may not may not resonate with everyone, but it's working well for me.
    We don't need more to be thankful for; we just need to be more thankful.

Out spokin'
    THAT'S what I'm talkin' about! Nice.

The only things I would have done differently are: used a shorter spindle, mounted the ring to the outside of the spider, cut the granny receptors off and used 195mm arms, all personal choices that don't amount to a hill of beans.

Good on ya, I say.

--Sparty
    disciplesofdirt.org

We don't quit riding because we get old.
    We get old because we quit riding.

nothing to see here
    That's one huge freewheel.

Steep hills?
    I see hills.

I want to climb them.

Drinking the Slick_Juice
    NOOOOOOOOOOO!! didn't you hear anything we have said before , buy a 4 bolt surly ring and you will most definitely taco it.....maybe. you have the ring on the inside of the crank so that's a good start . how much did those cranks set you back? I also hope that you are using a brand new chain on that brand new drive train.

Sparty, i think if he were to move the chain ring to the outside it would cause the chain line to be off, that could well be fixed if the spindle were to be shorter as you said above.

sweet build regardless
    "If women don't find handsome , they should at least find you handy."-Red Green

mtbr member