new bike... help?- Mtbr.com
    Welcome to the Gem...

Jabberwocky...WiP

so i had a peace 9r over the summer... someone stole it about a month ago... bummer. i need a new one, and i was wondering what to do. these are the things i want out of it
    • 29" wheels
    • 21" size... i'm 6'4", so i need a good size bike. my 9r was a 19"... i'd like to go a little bigger this time.
    • single speed (obviously...)
    • disc brakes
    • i would prefer a shock up front... maybe a reba?
    • i've been looking at the eno hubs... the double/double has my eye... as i converted the 9r to a twingle... so i'm all about options.
    • solid construction... sort of duh, but sometimes i need to get some air...
    • under $700 or so...
    i sent a message to bikesdirect... seeing if i could get some sort of motobecane fantom / outcast hybrid... we'll see how that goes.

what are some other options i have? i'm pretty new to the whole custom thing... but super excited to get started!
    Last edited by EDDIE JONES; 01-14-2008 at 03:25 PM. Reason: request of member

Welcome to the Gem...
    methinks i'm going to go with the Vassago Jabberwocky... it just seems right. the wet cat geometry did it for me i think... lol. i've been doing research all day long. wonder if there's anyplace to test ride it in buffalo NY? there's ~$400

i don't have enough for a suspension fork... how about carbon fiber? anything ~$100?

mechanical disc brakes... options? size? price?

eno double/double, crank and hubs for sure... there's what, $300 or so?

that doesn't leave my options open for... anything. looks like i'll be going over budget... oh well. it'll be worth it, as long as this one doesn't get stolen too... i'd cry. seriously...

WTB rims, tires, and seat probably... would the king headset be worth it?

handlebars... some more carbon fiber, maybe? WTB again? what should i look for here?

any help is appreciated. i don't know where to start, but i guess here is pretty good. thanks, in advance