Need some SSers opinions- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member
    Sep 2009

Need some SSers opinions

I am relatively new to SS and need some opinions on a SS setup.

I have a friend that is a die hard SSer and he has convinced me to go ss on my XC bike. I was hesitant for so long because after riding SS on my urban assault bike I didn't like the idea of having only one speed to ride to the local trails and then ride XC with the same gearing. So after talking with my hardcore SS friend, we came to a compromise and I think I can probably be happy.

I am going to use two rings in front and a White Industries Dos Eno freewheel in back. Where I need help is choosing the proper gears front and back.

My bike has horizontal dropouts, disc brake, and I don't want to use a chain tensioner. I already have a SS wheel that I'm going to use, with a freewheel that needs to be replaced. I was told by my friend that I would need to keep the front and back in proportion to each other so the chain can stay tight without having to move it farther back in the dropouts. I can't move the wheel to much once I set the brake caliper position.

So... I was thinking of using something like 30T&32T ring and the 19/17T freewheel to keep them in relative proportions. The Dos Eno also comes in a 18/16T.

I would appreciate any input. I also live in AZ, so I ride a mix of terrains.

Thanks,
    -Birdman
    Last edited by 79Birdman; 06-05-2010 at 06:30 PM.

openwound
    Either bite the bullet and commit to a single or do a 1x9 and run a derailleur. I don't see how you're going to manage the two ring/double cog thing, it just seems like such a p.i.t.a.

I don't know squat about riding urban assault, but once you make the switch to single for trail riding, you'll get it and you'll dig it.

mtbr member
    Sep 2009