Need some help.Please:)- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member
    Nov 2004

Need some help.Please:)

Well I do not post much at all. I'm a Nyc Fireman. Due to work I have been off and on the bike for a few years now. But I finally have the drive to ride alot back. I have been doing some serious road mileage for 3 months now. But I MISS THE DIRT! And i want to go SS. So I need some help. I have the parts listed below. I would like to use what I have but. The drive train is the issue. Tell me bothers what do I need to have a solid ride.
    Schwinn Homegrown Pro frame
    King Hubs on 517's with Dt swiss spokes
    Marzocchi bomber fork
    Thomson Elite stem
    Cane Creek thudbuster
    (going back to the straight bar) Handlebar - Easton carbon
    xtr brakes
    xtr cranks
    time atac carbon pedals

So what do I need to square away the rear hub? Also I would like to use the xtr cranks. Do I use the middle ring? And do I need some spacers for the crank spider to remove the big ring and the small ring?All suggestions are welcome. thanks for the help.

wait a minute....

use the middle

and put a cog on the back with some spacers. i use a 16 tooth for where i live. get a singulater or some kind of tensioner and go.your front is a 32 tooth,you will need to get some short chainring bolts and an 8 speed chain if you can,the 9 speed ones break. the chainline can be adjusted moving the spacers on the rear hub. single speeds are cheap to build. only $80 or so for eveyrthing.
    Three old guys are out walking.

First one says, "Windy, isn't it?"

Second one says, "No, it's Thursday!"

Third one says, "So am I. Let's go get a beer."

Eric the Red

Be careful

if that King hub has an aluminum cassette body, (most do but you can get stainless steel) make sure you use a cog with a wide base. If you use a standard width cogs, it will shear through the splines real quick.

mtbr member
    Nov 2004