My new Salsa 3 speed adventure bike- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member
    May 2004

My new Salsa 3 speed adventure bike

I like my single speed but sometimes like a lower or higher gear. I prefer simple friction shifters over indexed. I like good chainline and no frt derrailleur. I don't need 9 or 27 speeds and all the issues. Three on the back is perfect for me.

The bike is fun to ride in any terrain, any distance. I don't expect to spend much time on maintenance. The cassette cost $5, two of the cogs were recycled from an old cassette. I didn't spend much money on stuff that just breaks.

With a ebb and a der hanger I can turn this bike into a fixie/free down the road if I ever get tired of my trouble free three speed. In the real world of off roading I can turn it into a single speed if my derrailleur takes a dive.

I've been using this system for a few years and I think it has nothing but benefits over any other system I've tried. Its cheap and trouble free, I use a 14-18-26 homemade, recycled cassette. Set the limit screws on the rear derrailleur and it never needs another adjustment.

I never expect to put a squish fork on any bike I own. I like the 29er wheels. I have seen the light, I love the way this bike rides on rough trails.

It weighs about 28-30 and might cost about $2100. I plan to ride it all over the punny Oregon Cascades. Big mountains are easy to pedal up with low gears. Disc brakes are good to have here.

I built the whole thing, laced the wheels, picked all the parts myself. I'm very pleased with it. All the spokes were 288mm, kinda cool. Kinda simple.
    Attached Images Attached Images

mtbr member
    That is sweetness! I like how you placed the bag on the seatstays. And it features a double rear fender...nice!

Out spokin'
    Quote Originally Posted by lef-t
    I like my single speed but sometimes...
    Lef-T, you are the real deal. No doubt about it.

It looks very similar to a 9-speed to me, though.