Moving the brake levers inside- Mtbr.com
    (Ali)
    Sep 2006

Moving the brake levers inside

I'm new to disk brakes and enjoying the index finger braking.

When I grab the handle bar with three fingers and brake with the index finger though, the brake lever touches or comes close to my middle finger.

I am thinking about moving the levers closer to the stem so that the index finger will pull at the ends of the levers, not giving room for the middle finger.

Has anyone tried this? Will I miss two-finger braking?

Thanks,
    Ali

mtbr member
    Nov 2005
    I have big hands and have always moved my brake levers about 1/2" or so towards the stem from the edge of the grip. This gives my hands a lot more room and keeps me from crunching fingers when braking. I have never had any problems with lack of braking power or being unable to reach the brakes when needed.

large member
    Instead of moving your levers, it sounds more like you need to adjust your cable tension so the brake engages earlier in the lever throw.

^ The Trail Starts Here ^
    pisket:

Coming from a motoryccycle background I always ran my levers in a bit. You know how those nasty trees and hanging vines tend to grab'em. Running them in allows you to use 1 or 2 finger(s). With modern stuff like disc or v brakes you don't need to pull on the levers to hard. They stop with less power than the old canti stuff.
    Proformance Cycle
    [email protected]

Reviewer/Tester
    Quote Originally Posted by pisket
    I'm new to disk brakes and enjoying the index finger braking.

When I grab the handle bar with three fingers and brake with the index finger though, the brake lever touches or comes close to my middle finger.

I am thinking about moving the levers closer to the stem so that the index finger will pull at the ends of the levers, not giving room for the middle finger.

Has anyone tried this? Will I miss two-finger braking?

Thanks,
    Ali