Most Common SS MTB Crankset?- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member
    Oct 2009

Most Common SS MTB Crankset?

I'm new to SS and am looking at buying a new crank (currently I'm using my 3-ring crank on the middle ring). What are the most common cranksets people are using on MTB singles? I am looking for a quality crank something comparable in quality / weight to Shimano XT (not the best but respectable, reliable, durable, etc). Thanks in advance for your sage advice!

Super Moderator SuperModerator
    I use an XT crank with a SS specific 32T ring on my Redline.

mtbr member
    Sep 2008
    Most common, not sure. A lot here use moded XTR, and xt or lx. I use RF rice XC on most of my SS, but cook bros cranks on my Fat.

On a diffrent note, try to use a SS chainring. One thats not ramped or pinned. Will keep things running smoother.

Mtbr Forum Sponsor - Homebrewed Components
    Jul 2006
    hard to beat shimano for the money. I'm kinda diggin my bontrager race lite SS though... with a ti bottom bracket and a spiderless ring, it'll be in m960 territory weight-wise.

mtbr member
    Jun 2006
    If you're looking to buy a crankset, I highly recommend the modded Shimano XTR M960. You can purchase one already modified and ceramic coated from Shawnee Trail Bike which are gorgeous and perform great. Very stiff, very light, and extremely reliable. You can contact him at RDDale7 @ gmail dot com. Here are mine:

mtbr member
    Oct 2009
    sweet! I actually have an XTR crank available to use. What kind of chainring do you have on this one? Looks like a very simple mod.

mtbr member
    Jun 2006
    It's one of ISuckAtRiding's (ISAR) chainrings. They're very well made, light, and a good price. Instead of modding it on your own, I'd just send it to Shawnee and let him do it; it doesn't cost much more and he does a great job.

mtbr member
    +1 for Shawnee cranks. I'm running them on my new SS and I love it.

Most Common SS MTB Crankset?-photo.jpg

Drinking the Slick_Juice