Mongoose Deception going SS- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member
    May 2015

Mongoose Deception going SS

I hope to get some help . First off I know this is a $200.00 bike and this forum is a high end bike form,but I love the look of this frame.
    i like riding this bike and I want to go SS and by doing this I don't mind adding front forks that cost as much as the bike. I want to build a nice bike and I'm a newbie to working on bikes so any advice is welcome.
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Mongoose Deception going SS-image.jpg  

mtbr member
    You'll need a tensioner because the dropouts won't slide and the bottom bracket doesn't look like it will take an EBB. Definitely upgrade the fork and maybe even consider going rigid. If you like the bike there's nothing wrong with turning it into something you'll enjoy even more. I'd guess brakes and wheels would be good places to look at upgrading too. And there's a good chance the crankset won't work either...I'd guess it's probably riveted so you won't be able to remove any of the chainrings.

In all honesty...all you really have is a frame. I'd pretty much start with a bare frame and build from there. It all depends on what you are looking for in a final product.
    Kona Big Unit SS
    Kona Private Jake SSCX
    DiamondBack Release 3
    Norco Torrent HT 7.1

mtbr member
    May 2015
    Nubster that was what I was thinking use only the frame . And see where it goes now I need to build a parts list.

Hey maybe like this is the frame to use what would you add. Sounds like a Thread starter here.

mtbr member
    Mar 2015
    Going ss on an old frame is a great idea, great way to get into single-speed.

Only problem is, a lot of inexpensive bikes have welded-on chainrings, you can't swap em out. You might have to get on ebay to find a crankset that will let you run one ring up front. No biggie, just gotta take it apart, see what kind of bottom bracket you have, and be a smart shopper.