mtbr member

Machining Niner Biocentric EBB

Has anyone tried to machine a Niner Biocentric from the 55mm standard to say 54mm? I would like to run this EBB on my Selma

mtbr member
    Aug 2007
    What's wrong withe Bushnell? I haven't had a single issue with it.

mtbr member
    It's not blue. Only joking! Nothing wrong with it but I do have some creaks so I figured I would try the niner and lose a bit of weight in the process. I did'nt do my homework and now I have a niner ebb sitting at home with nowhere to go

mtbr member
    Dec 2010
    seems like that would be a bad idea...im pretty sure they design those ebbs a certain way and to be as light as possible. i think that removing material from a light part will only lead to you breaking it

openwound
    But if you only need to remove a total of one millimeter of diameter, isn't that a really small amount of material? As in, I would think one could take off that much material with sand paper...

Then again, I'm not an engineer nor materials guy so what the heck do I know...
    -- let's ride

mtbr member
    Mar 2008
    Can you machine out the frame ?? Make it nice and round and a nice tight fit. you will silence your creak that way.
    i have a one9 it has way too much clearance I wrap plumbers tape around the Biocentric three times to take up the slack. Stops the creak though.

mtbr member
    Not enough frame material. I figured I would ask a friend to do it on a lathe rather than sand it myself so that it would be perfectly round and a tight fit

PSYCHOLUST
    Have you actually tried to fit a NINER ebb in your frame?
    I would think there is PRETTY CLOSE to 1mm of play when installed in a NINER frame.

Mtbr Forum Sponsor - Homebrewed Components
    Jul 2006
    1mm is a decent amount, no sandpaper is going to remove that. It's nearly .04". A sheet of paper is about .003" thick, so that's like 13 sheets of paper.

4 Niners
    Dec 2008