Looking for a Singlespeed- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member
    Jul 2016

Looking for a Singlespeed

I just recently got into riding again and would like to build a single speed bike to ride with the kids. I would like to build something clean, cool and preferably light weight. I have never built a bike before so this would be cool project for me. I know I could got out and buy something new but I would like the satisfaction of building it myself. I want a setup for light trails and relatively small hills. What frame and components do you suggest? Thanks

mtbr member
    What is the budget?
    Signature

mtbr member
    Jul 2016
    Around $500-800. I am looking for something that I can piece together. I am in no rush I am looking for something without a front shock. Maybe an older frame. Thanks

Downcountry AF
    Quote Originally Posted by Jeepfan View Post
    Around $500-800. I am looking for something that I can piece together. I am in no rush I am looking for something without a front shock. Maybe an older frame. Thanks
    i think you should do some reading. there are a lot of great build threads. take some notes and start itemizing components you like. there's tons of info available here!! grab a beer in the evenings and start doing research, your going to need to learn a few things before your done anyway.

asking strangers to piece together an entire bike given your vague guidelines leaves too many variables.

there are many many great options for a simple SS in your price range. do some reading till you get a better idea of what you want.
    Rigid SS 29er
    SS 29+
    Fat Lefty
    SS cyclocross
    Full Sus 29er (Yuck)

Stop asking how much it weighs and just go ride it.

mtbr member
    Dec 2006
    Why not find a bike on craigslist in that price range, ride it and upgrade as you go.

mtbr member
    Aug 2014
    Honestly $500 - $800 is a tough budget I think. It will have to be on the higher end for sure. Frame, fork and wheels are the bulk of the budget.