looking for more speed- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member
    Feb 2008

looking for more speed

I have been riding my raleigh ss xxix for a few months now, get out about 3 times a week. My cardio has gone through the roof and am able to hit a lot of the climbs i couldnt do before. My problem is that now I spin out too much on the flats with the stock gearing 33t front and 20t rear. my question is what is a good gear to get so i'mnot spinning so much on the flats?

mtbr member
    Buy a couple smaller cogs/freewheels. Experiment.

mtbr member
    Feb 2008
    is there that much of a difference going from a 20 to an 18?

conjoinicorned
    Quote Originally Posted by ackack
    is there that much of a difference going from a 20 to an 18?
    yes. mostly noticeable on the uphills...
    what would rainbow unicorn do?

Pedaler of dirt
    Doesn't exist unless you can spin those cranks up to 160rpm. I run a 34x16 and I spin out on the flats. A higher gear would mean I wouldn't be able to climb the few small hills we have.
    It's not enough that we do our best; sometimes we have to do what's required.

Apr 2007
    I'd just get one of each from 18-22 (maybe 16-20 in your case). Buy a proper cog like Surly (sorry, ISAR--I'll start plugging your product once I test it out ).

Dive Bomber
    Add 1 teeth is very noticable though.

Man up
    Sep 2010
    Agreed, do your changes in 1 tooth increments.
    '08 GF Montare
    '10 Rockhopper SS
    Semper Fidelis
    02-10 SSGT of Marines
    (Most) always down for a ride in the Gville area

mtbr member
    You were out at Markham on tuesday weren't you? I was on the teal, rigid Vassago.

I make myself earn higher gears. If I can't make every single climb, then I still have more work to do.

Whenever I start making EVERY climb, every time, out at Markham, then its time to go one tooth smaller in the back.
    Last edited by hallowedpoint; 11-11-2010 at 06:17 AM.

mtbr member