Looking for advice on getting a fixie commuter bike- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member

Looking for advice on getting a fixie commuter bike

After spending a week in Seattle I realized that I'm missing out. I'm new to this so be gentle. I've been reading the FAQ's which have helped but I'm still not sure what to search for. I'd be using this bike mostly for Urban riding. Basically, I bike that I can lock up in a city and not be stranded because they cut my lock. It doesn't have to be terribly nice but I do suffer from upgraditis. Do I just find a frame in the trash and build it up? Do I pour over Craigslist and convert whatever I find? Do people build these up and sell them cheap?

Keep in mind that I mountain bike 4x or more a week on a pretty beefy bike. I also have a road bike and a XC race bike and do endurance races so I'm no stranger to pedaling. I also do all my own work so I can swing a wrench.

Any advice is appreciated.
    Come stay and play at da Kingdom Trails! - http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p3486813

Ovaries on the Outside
    I have a old steel Rockhopper with semi horizontal dropouts with a used disc brake wheelset. I slapped a tomicog on it. You could also get the Surly Fixxer. Or do it on both sides and have one ratio for fixed offroad.

Monkey Junkie
    Aug 2009
    There are plenty of different options that you could consider. Lots of people build SS/fixed conversions with old road frames. If you want to run fixed especially, just make sure it has horizontal dropouts. http://sheldonbrown.com/fixed-conversion.html - lots of info here. Personally, I would build one up instead of buying a cheap complete bike new. If you do it right, you will end up with a much better build for about the same price. Some people build them up and sell them on CL, but do research so you know what you're looking at.