Kinda a new guy. Trying to figure out what I want next.- Mtbr.com
    Old Goat
    Mar 2015

Kinda a new guy. Trying to figure out what I want next.

I started riding in March 2014. Bought a junky sporting goods store special Nishiki (which I now call the Nishitty) due to my ignorance about more quality type equipment. That bike basically started evaporating within 3 months.

During my time on that I came across a guy on a local trail who was blazing fast freakazoid of a rider. You know what he was riding. That intrigued me big time. You know the internal dialogue we all have also. So when I had to buy a new bike I went to the LBS and bought a Redline Monocog in Dec 2014. Having no idea what I was getting into that stock 32:20 kicked my ass. Humiliated, I started working harder.

Here I am now 18 months later having ridden that bike 99% of the time and upgraded enough that any more into this makes no sense. I put on Stans arch ex, hope hubs, tubeless ralphs, carbon rigid fork and on-one mary bars. I ride 16,18 and 20cog, trail dependent. And my fitness is good. I am ranking in the top 10-20% on strava leaderboards on local trails. And im just now feeling like the redline is holding me back a bit.

Could I be faster or more aggressive on other geometry or materials? These are some of the questions im asking myself. What should I be focusing on so hone in on whats next?

mtbr member
    So are you looking for a single speed?

If so- there are plenty of good options out there- you just need to decide on frame material. I am partial to quality steel.

If you are not sure if you want to dedicate soley to single, or want a geared bike too, but can't afford both- find a bike sliding, changeable dropouts so you can do both.

I can change my Vassago Verhauen from SS to geared in about 20 minutes. I only have when I cracked some vertebrae and couldn't yank on the bars SS, but it is nice to know I have the option if I decide to ride up Mt. Everest or something.