Im new to the Single-speeds- Mtbr.com
    Why not?

Im new to the Single-speeds

I may not be new to riding, but I am new to single-speeds. I like the look and I'm looking into getting a single-speed for my next rig, the question I have is this, how are they from a All Mountain stand point? I've done some looking but I really cannot find a definitive answer.

Help please

Nothing But Glory, and Everything For It.

mtbr member
    Quote Originally Posted by Badmamajama
    I may not be new to riding, but I am new to single-speeds. I like the look and I'm looking into getting a single-speed for my next rig, the question I have is this, how are they from a All Mountain stand point? I've done some looking but I really cannot find a definitive answer.

Help please
    Welcome aboard, I am new to single speeding too. Just pick a gear ratio that good compromise for hilly terrain and flat terrain and ride the heck out of the bike. As you get stronger you can start changing the size of the cog or the chainring for your level of fitness.

local trails rider
    http://forums.mtbr.com/showthread.php?t=476484

Singlespeed is just a type of drivetrain. You can attach it to all sorts of frame/fork/wheel, etc, combinations.

Singlespeed is pretty good for where and how I ride. I don't have a definitive answer for how it works for you in your environment.

mtbr member
    Go to Chris King's website. Single speed = always the wrong gear. It is the right gear for me and the those around the 29er/Singlespeed forums ... however, all-mountain doesn't come to mind with one gear. Stick with gears!
    Creative Producer, Will of the Sun, Platform Pedal Shootout 1M+ views WoS

mtbr member
    May 2005