I'm building a SS from scratch. Need Advice please- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member
    Jun 2009

I'm building a SS from scratch. Need Advice please

So I've decided to build a single speed from the frame up. It will be a budget, no frills type project. I almost have the frame picked out but since I have no experience working with bikes, other than changing a flat or cleaning my chain, where should I go from here???
    Should I buy a book on how to build a bike yourself, or look online?

mtbr member
    May 2009
    become friends with your local bike shop then bug them until they show you how to fix what your stuck on and you can search the forum, there are some pretty knowledgeable people one here.

mtbr member
    Look for a bike coop. Seems to be trend. We have one in boise, and you can go in and scavenge parts for cheap, use good tools, and get help from knowledgeable mechanics.

PSYCHOLUST
    I have just finished building my second single speed....that said, I have built a number of cross country race bikes and trail bikes ( geared) beforer, but the single speed build is unique in many ways... I found a ton of info here and on other sites, use GOOGLE and go mining, it's ALMOST as fun as riding without gears

mtbr member
    Jun 2009
    Quote Originally Posted by scyule
    I have just finished building my second single speed....that said, I have built a number of cross country race bikes and trail bikes ( geared) beforer, but the single speed build is unique in many ways... I found a ton of info here and on other sites, use GOOGLE and go mining, it's ALMOST as fun as riding without gears
    i like the idea of a single speed because it's simple and i like to try different things. also, it seems like a good idea for city riding just the idea of a basic bike with no extras.

Stokeless Asshat
    Zip ties? Not on my bike!

Want:
    650B rims or wheel set. 80's vintage 32 or 36 x 135mm

Dinner for wolves
    To the OP,