...if you were getting a custom frame....- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member
    Jan 2004

...if you were getting a custom frame....

I am new to singlespeeding, in as much as I've never owned one! I have the opportunity to build my own frame on a course in the UK and I have decided to build a steel 29er SS with the ability to run gears. The bike will be a second race/trail bike to my Scott Spark so it must be light, quick to change wheels and be reliable and will see a lot of mud. Rear hub will be SS cassette type with the option of 6 cogs, like a Hope Pro 2 SS/trials. The frame will be fillet brazed so stainless steel drop-outs are not an option.

So my question is, which chain tensioning system should I use?

1) I love the look of Black Cats swinger dropouts, not sure if they can be bought seperatly though. Simple, clean looking and heard good things.

2) Also loving Vassago's dropouts with their gear plug and Jabbernutz look like the best track end option, can I buy these I wonder?

3) Salsa/Cross Check horizontal with set-screws which I have on my Casseroll work well, not sure with discs though?

4) Then there's eBB, looked at the new Niner Bio-centric but not sure if it creaks/slips? If it's a solid system this would be my ideal setup as I can buy the bb shell and eBB.

5) last option in the Trickstuff or Fwd Components which seem expensive and heavy respectively seems like a band-aid for a problem.

If I went with options 4 and 5 I would have a super clean cs/ss area and would use Paragons Low Mount Disc drop-outs with caliper on the cs.

Any help would be appreciated guys.

mtbr member
    paul sells some cool dropouts. you could also get some surly dropouts. both are track type ends.
    Ride & Smile

Out spokin'
    Personally I'd probably go with the Black Cat style dropouts. But I have a split shell / pinch bolt EBB that I love. Never slips or creaks, had it for 8 years, raced & trained for 100 milers on it. Abused all to hell and no problems.