I just had my ASS handed to me....- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member
    Mar 2007

I just had my ASS handed to me....

Been riding SS for awhile, but nothing technical. In that regard, I'm a complete noob. It has always seemed to me that rolling hills is the best terrain for SS'ing, because about the time you're about ready to blow up, you've crested the hill, and can catch your breath while spinning madly on the downhill. So, that's what I've tended to ride. Only my favorite trail is now all torn up, because they're putting a rail trail thru there. It'll be a mess for the foreseeable future.
    So, I went to the Dale Ball Trail North. 2,000 ft of elevation gain.- pretty sustained climbing. I noticed everybody else there were unloading full suss gearies from their trucks. Felt pretty outta place with my dowdy rigid SS with 34/19. Soon found I was outta place. Badly. Managed to get to the top, but I was so gone, had to turn around and come back after only 4 miles. Couldn't do the whole 11 mile loop; I just blew up. So my questions:1.)How do you deal with sustained climbing, with a SS? Can't use momentum much. Do I just gear it way the hell down?(There was a one SS I saw, his bike looked like it was 32/22 or the like).
    2.)How the hell do you deal with hairpin turns on a rigid SS? I know this is a technical skill I've not acquired, and is not SS specific. But if I could drop it down to a grannie, it'd seem like it'd be way easier to slowly spin thru. I think sumbody should offer classes in the basics for dummies like moi...

mtbr member
    Gear it down and work on your balance. Then you can recover between pedal revs.

I ride 32:22. It sucks on flat terrain, but I think flat terrain sucks anyway.

Curmudgeon

Practice your track stands.

You have to stand around the hairpins..and with a freewheel (as opposed to fixed) you can coast and bump.. Once you are through the fulcrum of the turn, stomp down on your inside pedal to bring you around.