Hub Questions???- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member
    Oct 2008

Hub Questions???

So, I own a SS 29er Monocog and I want to upgrade the hubs to have more engagement points, as I notice a serious loss of efficiency while trying to post "fast times" on local, hilly trails. I run a 32:18 setup.

I don't understand the difference between:

Freewheel
    Freehub
    Flip-flop hub

I am still learning about the mechanics of bikes and admittedly don't know a whole lot at this point. I DO know that I want a higher set of engagement points (though "look at me" clicking noise is not necessary) as I hate the pedal lag that I experience.

Can someone explain these differences and what is the best setup that would fit my needs on the minimal to moderate expense level (I can't afford $300+ rear hubs).

Thanks.

PS - If there is a thread somewhere on here already covering this, please link it on here, as I tried searching but didn't really find what I was looking for. Thanks!

mtbr member
    Oct 2005
    flip flop hub:

left and right side threaded for freewheel or fixed (or borh). So you van choose between two gears.

freewheel hub:

threaded for a freewheel. Other side could have a disc attachment. Or be threaded for a freewheel. Then it's a flip flop.

freehub hub:

one side is made for attaching a splined cog. The freewheel mechanism is built into the hub. Both available for singlespeed use (shorter splines) or regular geared use (the standard width)

mtbr member
    Oct 2008
    so what is typically stock on bikes, especially SSs? Freehub?

mtbr member
    Oct 2005
    nothing. Depends on what you like.

mtbr member
    Oct 2008
    what are the pros/cons of each? I basically want one gear, setup up on horizontal dropouts with a disc brake...with the most engagement points for the cheapest money...

mtbr member
    Jan 2004