mtbr member
    Jan 2005

How to fit SS riding in training program and an injury question

Last year I converted my second mtb to SS, a 23.4 lb Kona Explosif.
    I started riding it at the end of my racing season (Oct); I even raced once for fun.
    Near Christmas started having a slight pain above knee, I didn't cut on training (running, SS and geared cycling) and I ended up with Chondromalacia (Runners Knee). I tried to cure my self up and ended up in the doctor at the end of February. Started, physical therapy and easy rides with high cadence on my geared bikes.
    Most of my fitness gone out of the window and started again base training with long easy rides. This year, I try to follow David Morris training approach (back to back days of training) and just have ended the endurance phase.
    My target after injury is to race XC sept-oct and one 4-day mtb stage race. Hence I need to do long rides back-to-back once a week or so. Because my climbing power and endurance has gone, Iím starting maximum sustainable short intervals and then maximum sustainable long intervals.
    Problem is I miss my SS bike but I can not find a way to fit it in my current training regime which goes like this: 2days long rides, 2 days rest, 2 or 3 days intervals, 2 or 3 days rest. I also have a fear of hurting again my injured knee.
    Does anyone have training suggestions using a SS bike? Are there others racing geared but also like riding SS all year round, not only off-season? Did anyone had the same injury, if yes after how long started riding SS again?
    Apologies for posting so long

@adelorenzo
    Last I checked, every time I ride my singlespeed it is basically an "interval workout." Find some trails that go up and down and attack all the hills.

Not sure what that will do for your knee pain issues though.

mtbr member