Honzo non-sliding drop outs - compatible chain tensioner?- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member

Honzo non-sliding drop outs - compatible chain tensioner?

I'm converting my '17 Honzo to SS, I have a 17t Surly cog with appropriate spacers installed, I'm keeping the stock 32t RaceFace NW chainring (might convert to oval later, but that sounds like a story for another thread...), and have an 8 speed chain ready to go, but when I went to install Surly's Singleator chain tensioner I found that due to the Honzo's screwy derailleur hanger, the Singleator is blocked from getting close enough to the chainstay to actually push the chain up as it is intended:

Honzo non-sliding drop outs - compatible chain tensioner?-singleator-push-up.jpg

Surly says I can install it in "push-down" mode, but that only leaves 7t of chainwrap:

Honzo non-sliding drop outs - compatible chain tensioner?-singleator-push-down.jpg

First question: Your thoughts - is 7t enough? I'm new to this SS thing, that doesn't seem like much to me. For what it's worth, I live in the prairies where no climb exceeds 150m vertical, and most are no more than 20m at a time, though some can be pretty steep for that short period.

I'm considering ordering a Shimano Alfine tensioner, but just looking before doing so to see if anyone has any experience with a chain tensioners on Honzos and can advise whether there is another tensioner they'd recommend instead?

As a coincidence, it seems that with the Honzo's 415mm chainstays, 32x17 happens to be a "magic gear," so for the short term I'm considering doing that, but the internet tells me not to count on it for long (subject to Barry Wicks seeming to have some success).

Appreciate whatever info youse have.

mtbr member