High humidity!!!- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member
    Jul 2016

High humidity!!!

How do you guys ride in high humidity? I've been singlespeeding for 3 years in CO, MT and WY with lots of climbing. I am currently in Minnesota and have a hard time riding over 6 miles, just feel zapped. I've been hydrating and using salt stick chewables during rides but still the same and I'm running the same 32-20 I run in the mountains, what's the secret?

Cycologist
    htfu

Yeah, high humidity will do that. I guess you get conditioned to it to some degree (?) I don't bother with salt.

Curious just how high the humidity is there (because I might laugh at you).
    By continuing to browse my posts, you agree to send me cookies.

mtbr member
    Jul 2016
    It was around 95% this morning, I'm used to 10-20% in the summer.

Hardtail Steel Forever
    Secret is skipping the summer...
    WTB: Med Bontrager Ti Lite, PM Me...

Hell Track

... and if we just ...

Ugghh... I spent my first 24 years in N.J. and all I knew was heat with humidity. been in Socal for 16 years and don't miss it. Today it's in the high 80's and dry. Not even running my AC. I don't know if there is a secret. Just drink as much as you can handle i guess. In my experience the Mid-West has the highest summer time humidity in the states. When it's all you know you just deal with it. Good luck and be safe

make sure you leave before winter

mtbr member
    Jul 2016
    Thanks, I'll try to make the best of it while I'm here.

mtbr member
    I guess just growing up in an area that has high humidity just makes you more immune to it. I'm in WV and while it's not Florida humid...it gets pretty nasty. We see 70's and 80's a lot. Sometimes 90's. Right now it's low in the 50's because it's been raining the last three days. But when it's higher and once I start riding and get a little breeze going...I'm generally ok.
    Kona Big Unit SS
    Kona Private Jake SSCX
    DiamondBack Release 3
    Norco Torrent HT 7.1

Cycologist