Help! Did I get the wrong bike size?- Mtbr.com
    Dman777

Help! Did I get the wrong bike size?

I bought a Trek 6700 and am wondering if I got the wrong bike size. I am 5'10 feet and bought a 6700 that is 17.5". Back when I bought it I got sized by the sales man but I was wearing baggy shorts so I don't know if that messes up things. Here's the problem...I always feel like there is to much wieght forward. I have moved the seat back and raised the handle bars up and put an extender on the handle bars to help. On the seat stem, to have my legs fixed propperly fit where my I have a knee just slightly bent, I have the seat stem almost(not quite though) to the boundry line. If I lower my seat then I feel more of my wieght going back, but then my legs are bent to much and I have to peddle harder than I should. I am new to bike riding and have only been riding for about 3 months, so any help would be greatly appreciated. Does this problem sound like I got the wrong size bike or is it just me?

Thanks,
    -dman

Shortcutting Hikabiker
    Do you mean that you feel too streched out on it? Like you're leaning too far forward?

Dman777
    Naw....I just feel like most of my wieght is shifted foward which causes the bike front tire to wash out easily and also makes the bike feel unstable. If I lower like the seat stem just an inch it brings alot of my wieght back which is good because then I feel I have complete control of the bike, but then my seat is to low(leg is bent to much) and I have to peddle harder than I should. Does this sound like the bike is to small?

Thanks,
    -Dman

Medium?

You're between sizes