HELP! Chain Skipping- Mtbr.com
    indigosky

HELP! Chain Skipping

Ok, I'm a SS Newb, so I need some help. I converted my old Raleigh aluminum to a SS using a 16t dx cog, a surly imitation singulator (pyramid), and a new sram 8 spd chain. It's skipping under pressure. Climbing hills, it feels like my knees are going to skip forward into my stem.

The cassette lockring is tight, the chainline is spot on. The only other variable is the 32t chainring is old. Will this cause the skipping?

Anyway, here is a pic of the Lucky Charms bike. Blue fork, purple grips, green tire, it's magically delicious. (Image is pre singulator & cog)

Thanks.
    Attached Images Attached Images

paintbucket
    Sounds like a chain wrap issue. Is the singulator set in push up mode (pushes the chain up towards the stay) to let more of the chain wrap around the cog?
    When the going gets weird its bedtime.

indigosky

The imatation singulator...

The imatation singulator only pushes down. Cheap. You get what you pay for I know. Before I got the DX cog & new chain, I took apart the original cassette (from when it was multispeed) and used that 16t ramped cog, with the original chain, the original chainring, and, the new singluator with no problems. I had to send that cassette back to SRAm for warrentee (some of the other cogs had broken teeth), so that was only a temporary solution.

paintbucket
    Quote Originally Posted by indigosky
    Before I got the DX cog & new chain, I took apart the original cassette (from when it was multispeed) and used that 16t ramped cog, with the original chain, the original chainring, and, the new singluator with no problems.
    Double check your chainline then, and maybe tweak it. Sounds like the chain is riding up on the cog (or maybe the chainring but I doubt it), but not enough to throw the chain. The chunk you feel may be the chain dropping back down to where it should be.