Grinding over logs- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member
    Nov 2004

Grinding over logs

I've been riding my new SS (rigid monocog with 34/18) for about 6 months now, mostly on the flatter and not so technical trails in southern NJ. I recently started riding it in Philly, including on some trails with a significant amount of logs. I'm able to get over the smaller logs by bunnyhopping or just with the wheelie-rear wheel flick move.

For much larger logs, the kind on a geared bike you would grind over on your big chainring, I'm getting stymied. Where I used to wheelie my front wheel up and over, grind in with the chainring to get purchase and stability under my rear tire hits and rolls over, I find that I'm getting hung up, perched precariously on top of the log and unclipping. I also have a minor concern about bashing my chain into logs. I know the chain is much harder/tougher then any log, but I feel like I'm risking damage and an eventual broken chain.

Any suggestions? Do people run rock rings? Do they still exist?

One gear to rule them all
    Quote Originally Posted by Brian Burgess
    Lots of SS'ers use ring guards. Spot makes a nice one. Heres a horrible pic of mine.

https://www.spotbikes.com/
    Last edited by 32seventeen; 06-22-2005 at 07:00 AM.
    Todd............. If you can't be kind, at least have the decency to be vague

mtbr member

Try this

In addition to the bash guard, I forced myself to learn the "jump" technique to clear larger logs:
    1) wheelie up to the log and place the front wheel *on top* of the log
    2) jump up and forward, throwing the bike ahead of you.

If you do it right, your rear wheel will be on the log and your front wheel on the ground (hopefully you'll still be on top of the bike). Pedal away happy, knowing that your bash guard never even touched the log.

mtbr member
    Feb 2004
    I don't use a bashring and regularly smash the ring/chain on logs and rocks and other stuff. So far no breakage.