Going ss on old raleigh- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member

Going ss on old raleigh

I have an 02 raleigh mountain scout that im converting to ss. In addition im exchanging the omni fork for a rigid fork and putting a new front wheel with a front bb7 and a 160mm rotor, but leaving the rear linear pull since it doesnt have rear disc mounts, anywho for the ss im just taking off the first and third chain rings and putting a bmx cog in the rear, but im relatively new to this so does anyone have any reccomendations as to anything else i should do? Singlespeed or otherwise, im gonna put some bmx style wheels on it since its gonna be mainly for riding around town
    2009 Jamis Trail X2
    2002 Raleigh Mountain Scout
    2008 Trek fuel ex7

mtbr member
    Aug 2011
    How are you going to tension the chain? Magic Gear?

29er and 26er
    Mar 2012
    There is a bunch of good reading in the Single Speed FAQ. I would check that out if I were you. Good luck, and post some pics.

mtbr member
    Well i got tge cassette off to find this threaded hub

Not quite sure about how to go about putting on a rear cog, and what parts ill need
    2009 Jamis Trail X2
    2008 Trek fuel ex7

mtbr member
    Oct 2009
    You can thread on a BMX freewheel, but you will have to re-dish the wheel.

mtbr member
    I understand the bmx freewheel part, but i dont get what you mean by redishing the wheel
    2009 Jamis Trail X2
    2008 Trek fuel ex7

Dive Bomber
    Adjust the spoke to center the rim after you have the right chainline.

mtbr member
    2009 Jamis Trail X2
    2008 Trek fuel ex7

mtbr member