Getting used to SS - it aint the knees, but the hips...- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member
    Oct 2014

Getting used to SS - it aint the knees, but the hips...

I recall being told how it will take some time getting used to rigid SS'ing, and that there WILL be some aches and pains, most likely with the knees. I've been riding my rigid SS exclusively now for about two months and my knees have never been an issue (I used to get knee pain as a roadie, but never MTB'ing). What I do find sometimes after a couple back-to-back days with lots of climbing, is that I feel it in my hips. In particular my left hip gets sore. Actually I can't quite tell if it's the joint or just below it were everything connects, like right below the hip ball socket. Stretching helps--glutes, quads, IT band--the 'ol foam roller is getting lots of use. And, taking a few days off certainly helps. Now, I'm 54, so some of this is just age, but maybe I'm doing something wrong when I'm standing to climb? Maybe I'm trying too hard to stay on the bike, when I should be walking more until I'm more conditioned? I'm only getting off when I absolutely run out of steam standing. Anybody else experience an aching hip or hips when they were new to ss mtb'ing?

western NC
    At 54 you're probably just too old to be riding SS. Just send me the bike and I'll see that it gets a loving home.