Getting an inexpensive single speed?- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member
    Mar 2010

Listen! Getting an inexpensive single speed?

First off I am a high-school student looking to get into mountain biking. I am active and I do a lot of running, hiking, sports, etc. I have looked around and I think I would enjoy a Single Speed bike.

The question I have is; is it possible to inexpensively get a bike and convert to a single speed? Or is it cheaper to buy a SS bike in the first place? The only bike I have now is a roadie, so I do not have a mountain bike readily accessible to convert. I have looked around on this site, and enjoyed the search function.

I am on a small budget due to still being a student... Should I buy a geared bike and convert it? If so, what kind of bike? Ex: Specialized, Giant, Trek..or do I just need something with a functional frame? I would like to spend $500 or less if possible.

I don't really want to buy a brand new bike and then rip stuff of it to make it a single speed, but Craigslist in my area seems to be pretty limited when it comes to mountain bikes... If ya'll could give me some advice, I would definitely appreciate it.

Take care,
    Andrew Coleman

Mtbr Forum Sponsor - Homebrewed Components
    Jul 2006
    There are quite a few singlespeed bikes out there in the $500 range. I think the Redline Monocog is somewhere about that price, and gets raving reviews from anyone who has one.

mtbr member
    Sep 2008
    If you are not in a big hurry, you could scavenge parts from eBay and other sites (ex: Truvativ crankset, bars / stem / tires etc from eBay, wheels from Bikeisland.com, etc). Nashbar carries frames that you can build as a single speed. There are other places like Pricepoint that also carry frames. If you start off with a rigid fork, you should pretty easily be able to assemble a singlespeed bike in your price range.

Todd

Ovaries on the Outside