Gentlemen...behold!!!- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member
    Jan 2004

Gentlemen...behold!!!

THE ***** BIKE!!!

Ok, so if yall don't get my title of this thread, you need to start watching Aqua Teen Hunger Force on Adult Swim.

Anyway, this is the bike I affectionately call the ***** Bike, a name which is obtained after I chose to stick this decal for the KHS ***** bike on the frame. So...on to the bike.

If I had tons of disposable income I would probably buy one of them fancy shmancy high dollar singlespeeds, but Im a poor college student. Even if I did have the money, I wouldn't have spent that much on a bike I wasnt sure if I'd like anyway. Therefore, it seemed to make the most sense to convert an old bike to a singlespeed.

I found this old Jamis Explorer XR for $25 and decided it would make a great singlespeed with its horizontal dropouts. Its a close enough size for me, so I figured I would check this singlespeed stuff out. I started with a cheesy Specialized "Son of Strongarm" crank that has only 1 set of bolt holes in 74mm BCD, but I had the middle 32T ring from it to use. Then, I happened to have an old Araya rim laced to a cheapo Shimano HG cassette hub, so I spaced it out with an 18T cog from a cassette, as it was all I had. I had a crappy steel riser bar I put on there. Originally, it had some weird Dia-comple cantilever brakes made out of plastic, yes, plastic brakes and levers. I started riding it, and it was pretty cool. It had a really solid, yet compliant ride, very surprising for a cheapo steel frame. So, I decided this was more than an experiment, but a new member of the stable.