Which gear?- Mtbr.com

Thread: Which gear?

dr0
    mtbr member
    Aug 2009

Which gear?

Sorry I'm a newbie, I did a search but didn't see the most basic topic for single-speeders out there: what gear to run?

Specifically I'm putting together my first single speed in 25 years. It will be a 26" wheel'd bike with pretty big city tires on it, and plan to ride it mostly on paved mostly not-too-hilly city streets, including some urban freestyling. (Wheelies, wall rides, etc.)

I realize "it depends" is the correct answer, but still l have to start somewhere.

I ran the classic 44/16 combination on all my BMX bikes (20"). That works out to 51.4" gear inches using this web gear calculator (http://www.sheldonbrown.com/gears/.

Bike Shop Guy said: start at 2:1 ratio. 40 front / 20 rear gives me 52.8 gear inches, which is pretty close.

My friend says he has 44/17 on his 700c wheel'd singlespeed. That = 69.3 gi. Quite a bit taller.

BMX racing is all about geting out of the gate fast, and BMX hacking is all about accelerating fast to hit the jump, so perhaps it's a bad place to start for a city cruising bike.

What do you like for all around fairly-flat city riding on you 26" (or, in gear inches for any size).

Also, if (for instance) I wanted a 2:1 ratio, I could go 44:22, 40:20, 38:19, 36:18, 34:17, etc.
    Is there some accepted best range that makes changing gears up/down a bit easier? Or other reason to pick one over the other?

I imagine "smaller is better" for both weight and less stuff to break off, all other things equal, but I suspect they are not equal. (I notice all new-school BMX bikes run really really little gears in back so they can run very small chain rings, the better not to hang up on doing weird freestyle stuff)....

Apologies in advance for asking such basic questions.

dr0
    mtbr member
    Aug 2009