Fork Choice???- Mtbr.com

Thread: Fork Choice???

mtbr member

New question here. Fork Choice???

I find myself in the VERY lucky position of being on the brink of buying/building up a new Single for my quiver! I am quite certain that I want a steel ride with disc brakes, and a fork... I like the beauty or principle that is Single Speeds, but I'm NOT old school. One of the missing links though in my fantasy scheming is... Which Fork should I choose and be hunting for?

So, for you experienced SS riders, is a stable platform fork the right way to go because I've been having visions of a Fox Terralogic or a Manitou Minute Fork mounted to the front... Any thoughts on these two forks, or better options???

Thanks!
    Tony.

mtbr member
    Jan 2004
    I rode manitou forks for years and switched to fox when the float came out. I will tell You that I will never use anything else but fox! I have been using My float for a few years now and it still just plain rocks! I put a vanilla on My newest SS and besides the weight it works even better! I will tell you to go fox, nothing else.

mtbr member
    Quote Originally Posted by gearless
    I rode manitou forks for years and switched to fox when the float came out. I will tell You that I will never use anything else but fox! I have been using My float for a few years now and it still just plain rocks! I put a vanilla on My newest SS and besides the weight it works even better! I will tell you to go fox, nothing else.
    I appreciate the commentary on the quality between the brands (although EVERYTHING I've ever heard or read said the same thing you did here)... What I was particularly wondering about though is Stable Platform Forks performing in coordination with a Hardtail/SS... I also am wondering out loud as most of these forks are 100mm travel at a minimum and I'm concerned that most frames aren't built for that travel...

More thoughts??? anyone???

mtbr member
    Apr 2004

Fox Vanilla RL