Flip-Flop rear hub, how many use them?- Mtbr.com
    Cynical Bystander

Flip-Flop rear hub, how many use them?

Are these a good idea for getting your ss bike capable of more riding? I'm new to the SS world and am looking for ideas to help build my frame. Also, for those that do, what gear ratios are you using and what are the different sized rings you have on the hub? Any suggestions would be appreciated. Thanks,
    Tony
    Tony
    is making a comeback.

Turns out that five years of not mountain biking, really makes one strive to get back to it.

KgB
    SNGLSPD

I have always used the Surly flip flop

I have never flopped it on my single though.I keep a 18 tooth fixed cog on the other side as a backup gear if my freewheel craps out.It's kind of a pain to flip.
    On my cross bike:One side is 16 fixed the other side is 22 freewheel and I have quick releases.I have to add chain to flip.A couple sram quicklinks do the trick.
    I've been inside too long.

mtbr member

I use the ...

Eric's ENO hub on my converted bike. The ENO supports flipflop with one side fixed, one free. I keep a fixed cog mounted along with the freewheel. I don't ride fixed alot, but when I want to its only a 2 minute operation to make the change! My next rear wheel will be flipflop with 2 freewheel ratios. I know some people are so hung on the idea of Discs that they wouldn't do this, but honestly rear brakes of anykind really add little to your total stopping power, so I would rather have the versatility of 2 ratios at all times.

My .02c

MC

Quote Originally Posted by COmtbiker12
    Are these a good idea for getting your ss bike capable of more riding? I'm new to the SS world and am looking for ideas to help build my frame. Also, for those that do, what gear ratios are you using and what are the different sized rings you have on the hub? Any suggestions would be appreciated. Thanks,
    Tony

blame me for missed rides

which kind of flip flop?

Tony