Fixie or SS with Disc Brakes Setup?- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member

Fixie or SS with Disc Brakes Setup?

I'm trying to figure out how to have my cake and drink beer too. I've always dreamed of owning a fixed gear bike, but I'm not convinced thats going to be a perfect setup. I'd like to have the option of a) fixed gear or b) single speed with disc brakes.

I've got a Karate Monkey frame with horizontal dropouts. My problem is which method / hub to use. I really don't want to buy two different wheels.

Option #1: SS/Disc hub with drilled gear.

I've seen the 63XC.com proposal where you drill a disc six bolt pattern in your favorite gear, bolt it on and bingo! either fixed without rear brake or SS with disc brake. http://www.63xc.com/jasom/milldisc.htm My proposal is to do that on some Surly hubs. I know the Surly guys were negative, strongly negative about doing that. I don't know why, but they were like, really negative. As an engineer, I gotta believe there is a ton more load on a disc brake to hub interface then there would ever be on a fixed gear to hub interface. Think about going down monster hills. You can definitely go down hills that you couldn't power up. With that in mind, I would expect zero risk for damage or problems going 6 hole drilled gear on hub.

Concern: This will definitely need work on ensuring that bolts don't break or come loose. This would be a big deal. The problem here is you can't rely on loctite if you want the opportunity to jump from fixed to SS whenever you want to. Is there room for lacing wire with drilled bolts?

Option #2: Fixed/Disc hub.