Fixed hub question....- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member
    Oct 2004

Fixed hub question....

My commuter will be fixed soon.....I am looking for a good hub.

One of the choices would be this:

I understand that you can mount a cog on the disk rotor, right? On the other side I could have a freewheel, to make it a flipflop.....

An alternative could be this:

A standard double fixed hub....

What would be a better choice ?

Thanks. I am a complete newby on this....

mtbr member
    Nov 2005
    The wait for a boone cog is probably pretty long. That would be something to take into consideration. I'm not sure what other companies are making cogs drilled in that fashion.

Harrumph
    It will be easier to find cogs/lockrings for the normal hub, and cheaper to replace.
    Slowly slipping to retrogrouchyness

mtbr member
    they arent currently on the website, but Kogswell cycles sells nice steel disk iso drilled cogs for 15 dollars each, they come in 16 and 18 tooth. They also sell that same inbred hub but branded kogswell for 50 bucks. check out http://www.kogswell.com/
    not affiliated, just a customer.
    miles

velocipede technician
    looking for 20-21" P team

French for "Suck"
    A drill-press and some cheap Shimano DX cogs can do wondrous things... But I'd say do whichever agrees with your chainline more.

mtbr member
    Oct 2004
    Quote Originally Posted by Aeroplane
    A drill-press and some cheap Shimano DX cogs can do wondrous things... But I'd say do whichever agrees with your chainline more.
    That is what I was thinking. I can only see pros, not cons when compared to screw-on cogs......right ?

French for "Suck"
    Quote Originally Posted by pieter
    That is what I was thinking. I can only see pros, not cons when compared to screw-on cogs......right ?
    The only cons that I can see are if chainline doesn't work out, or if you want to run a disc brake on the rear. Otherwise, I'm surprised folks aren't purposely selling these for this application.