Suburban Redneck

First SS build nearly done.

About two weeks ago I reacquired my first mountain bike. It's a '91 Diamond Back Topanga. Over the course of my original ownership I had upgraded some parts like we all do. Upon inspecting it after getting it back I realized the shifters were shot so I did what felt natural. I ripped the drivetrain apart. And tossed it. I replaced the Hyperdrive ('glide?) crankset with an Alivio ($29 shipped) unit and replaced the big rig with a BBG bashguard. Also removed the inner ring. I also picked up a Forte SS conversion kit from Performance for $25. Swapped out the brake/shift combos for some older Avid levers and trashed the 14 year old Specialized tires. I'm waiting for a lighter-weight seatpost to arrive and I'm trying to decide on whether or not to keep the bar ends (retro) or get a set of lock-ons for it.

This is my first attempt at single-speeding and the bike's primary purpose will be kicking around the 'hood with the kidlings. However, I'm already looking for a low-cost frame to build up that will be a trail-worthy SS. I'm sick like that (meaning I'm already looking to upgrade before this one is even done). I'll get some pics up later.
    I'm not big-boned, I'm a Clyde.

Suburban Redneck
    Ok, it's pretty much done except for seatpost, brakepads and a new chain. Wrapped it all up last night and rode around the neighborhood for a bit. Currently running 32x18.
    Before:

After:

mtbr member
    Mar 2008
    Looks pretty trail-worthy to me, I'd say take it out and flog it! Enjoy!

mtbr member
    Sweet build. Now take it out and ride it!

mtbr member
    Nice conversion, looks trail ready to me. Take it out and learn to love your old bike again.
    Rockin it Fixed On my Iron Horse In Adelaide ,South Australia

http://forums.mtbr.com/showthread.ph...17#post8293017

Suburban Redneck