fabricating your own steel frame- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member
    Feb 2004

fabricating your own steel frame

this idea has been sloshing around in my head for a while. I am thinking of buying lugs and tubes and brazing them myself. I am comfortable cutting the tubes part (metering), but brazing is something I have no knowledge about. I know it involves lower temperature than arc welding, and tubes are less prone to heat stress. I am thinking of silver or bronze brazing. Anyone have any ideas? I am looking for a how-to to brazing a bike frame. At this point I would like to know how difficult it is.

drev-il, not Dr. Evil!
    Check out this previous post:
    http://forums.mtbr.com/showthread.ph...18575#poststop

Quote Originally Posted by girishji
    this idea has been sloshing around in my head for a while. I am thinking of buying lugs and tubes and brazing them myself. I am comfortable cutting the tubes part (metering), but brazing is something I have no knowledge about. I know it involves lower temperature than arc welding, and tubes are less prone to heat stress. I am thinking of silver or bronze brazing. Anyone have any ideas? I am looking for a how-to to brazing a bike frame. At this point I would like to know how difficult it is.

Not a regular
    Jan 2004