ENO Hub Questions...- Mtbr.com
    you go ahead
    Feb 2005

ENO Hub Questions...

I've decided to build up a gearie frame ('95 Marin Pine Mountain) as an SS
    (see this thread http://forums.mtbr.com/showthread.php?t=106031)

I don't like the idea of a tensioner like the Singleator dangling off the dropouts, so I was looking into the ENO eccentric hub. I'm a newbie to the SS world though, and I don't exactly understand how it works.

If I used the ENO hub, would I still need the gusset kit? Or could I use a freewheel?
    What spokes/rims would be a good match for the hub? ( I don't kow much about wheels either )
    And finally, could I use an Eccentric Bottom Bracket to solve this same problem, and just stick in the Gusset kit in the rear? Or do you need an SS frame for the EBB?

thanks for any help
    rustyb

TRAIL KUBUKI CORNDOGGER
    Quote Originally Posted by RustyBearings
    I don't exactly understand how it works.
    You adjust the chain tension by turning the hub on the axel. Very simple really and needs to be seen to be believed.

If I used the ENO hub, would I still need the gusset kit? Or could I use a freewheel?
    Just a freewheel. I use a BMX cog and it's fine although I go though a few of them per year.

What spokes/rims would be a good match for the hub?
    I sewed my ENO to a Mavic 819 rim which I really like

And finally, could I use an Eccentric Bottom Bracket to solve this same problem, and just stick in the Gusset kit in the rear? Or do you need an SS frame for the EBB?
    You'll want a chainrig, a chain and a way to tension the chain (hub or Singulator-type thing).

I went cheap for starters (singulator), upgraded to an ENO hub, then finally bought a SS specific frame (horiz drops, no EBB) EBB's are a preference, I prefer the simplicity of horix drops.

Find a knowledgable LBS to help you out. It they know anything about SS they can convert you for cheap to get you hooked and then you'll get upgraditis like the rest of us.