Eno cranks vs. XTR 960- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member

Eno cranks vs. XTR 960

First off, RD at SHAWNEE TRAIL BIKE AND PERFORMANCE COATINGS has been SUPER helpful with my inquiries about their modified xtr 960 setups.

I got all the info I needed from him as well as pricing. I had been planning on doing the WI Eno cranks and square BB. Well it appears there is little price diff between the Enos and the 960s from Shawnee. It sure seems like the XTRs are a nicer setup but I have no experience with either. I have every intention to go the Shawnee Trail route but I always like asking for last minute direction/confirmation.

Anyone weigh-in?

AZ
    banned
    Ceramic coated XTR .

mtbr member
    May 2007
    I'm in the same boat (sort-of). I have some Middleburns that I love, square taper and single ring set-up similar to Whites. Then I scored some M960s cheap on Ebay which I plan to chop and polish. Not really relevant here but I'm running a 1x9, and using the XTRs means that if I fancy it I can fit a granny ring (although it just occurred to me you can get double ring set-ups for both White and Middleburn). XTR rocks.

Peace & Love
    no comparison, at all. My 960s dominate the ENOs and Middleburn I have had. Other than trying to "fit in" with the "core" high school dropout singlespeeders in their cutoff jean shorts, there is NO reason to consider ENO

mtbr member
    Quote Originally Posted by FoShizzle
    no comparison, at all. My 960s dominate the ENOs and Middleburn I have had. Other than trying to "fit in" with the "core" high school dropout singlespeeders in their cutoff jean shorts, there is NO reason to consider ENO

This is the response I was fishing for. Right on cue.

mtbr member
    I really really don't like the big companies like Shimano but there's a reason square taper is no more. Go with the Shawnees...

aka baycat