eccentriker or similar - anyone lived with one long term?- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member
    Oct 2006

eccentriker or similar - anyone lived with one long term?

Looking to SS this more perminantly. Its on a magic ratio atm by complete accident after my surly sprung tensioner threw a wobbler - i like the clean lines so im tempted by the eccentriker or eq but .

A. Do the bearings last - they must be smaller than standard , which lets admit it aint great.

B. How much adjustment do they give

C. Are the bearings home replacable or are they a bespoke bearing

Doing some decent races on this so need it to be a reliable method which i do not consider the magic ratio to be

any help appreciated guys !

mtbr member
    I've been using an Excentriker for almost two years now and it's done the job for me perfectly. I'm still on the original bearings too, which are the same size as those in other outboard bearing bottom brackets.
    Home replaceable too, of course...
    Look also at the Forward Components Eccentric BB - if I was buying now I think that's what I'd spend my money on - if nothing else, it costs less and does the same job.

Without checking, I think that the "throw" on both of these is about 6mm, so with certain chainring/sprocket combos you might need a half-link to get within the adjustment range - if you change gearing frequently then the best thing is to have two chains the correct lengths anyway.

A review here anyway http://forums.mtbr.com/showthread.php?t=490528 , with some ramblings about the Excentriker too.......

mtbr member
    I have almost a year on the Forward Components version, but somewhat limited run time (< 1000km). It's on a IGH bike, and I've been riding my SS and Fixie a lot more this year.

So far so good. Original bearings, no creaking. And I have not been particularly kind to it.

They use the same cartridge bearings as all external BB's, so you can replace them yourself with Shimano, Enduro, or whatever.