do I need to use a chain tug- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member

do I need to use a chain tug

Sorry SS newbie here. I just ordered an On One Inbred 29er and this will be my first 29er and my first SS bike build.

I tried reading the FAQ, and I understand chaintugs are used with trackends but I see a lot of builds without them. I was planning on using a regular 9 speed QR hub with adapter spacers and a good clamping QR skewer. Does it depend on the quality of the skewer?

thanks.

mtbr member
    Sep 2007
    I don't have a bike that requires tugs. But FWIW, I think chain tugs are only needed for weak QR skewers. If yours won't slip, then you will be good. My Cross Check has semi horizontal dropouts and after I put on DT RWS skewers on it, no more slipping.

max_29
    Quote Originally Posted by CarlS View Post
    Sorry SS newbie here. I just ordered an On One Inbred 29er and this will be my first 29er and my first SS bike build.

I tried reading the FAQ, and I understand chaintugs are used with trackends but I see a lot of builds without them. I was planning on using a regular 9 speed QR hub with adapter spacers and a good clamping QR skewer. Does it depend on the quality of the skewer?

thanks.

I've used shimano XT skewer (hard to beat that for clamping force) with a tug and had some
    occasional slippage when braking hard.
    Since i switched to a bolt-on hub, i stopped using tugs and never had a wheel slipped.

BTW. you don't need tugs on both sides, just a drive side will do.

CB2
    Jam Econo
    Quote Originally Posted by allroy71 View Post
    I don't have a bike that requires tugs. But FWIW, I think chain tugs are only needed for weak QR skewers. If yours won't slip, then you will be good. My Cross Check has semi horizontal dropouts and after I put on DT RWS skewers on it, no more slipping.
    I've had Shimano and DT RWS skewers slip on me (DT slipped for the first time in a race , then twice more), so I've used a drive side chain tug since.